Indian Executive

The Empowering Union Executive Branch of the Indian Government

Union Executive

The Union Executive of India, as in the parliamentary type of government, consists of the President and the council of ministers. The executive branch of the Union Government is headed by the president, in whom the constitution vests a formidable array of powers. The president serves as the head of state and the supreme commander of the armed forces. Article 55 of the Indian Constitution states there shall be a President of India, and that the executive power of the Union will be vested in him, exercised by him, directly or through officials subordinate to him, in accordance with the constitution of India.

Union Executive

However, though he is the constitutional head of the parliamentary system of government and represents the nation, he does not rule it. The power that the president has as Executive power Article 53: All executive functions of the Union government are carried on in the name of the President. It is he who appoints the Prime Minister. According to the Constitution, he can appoint only such person to the post about whom he feels that he would be able to command the confidence of the majority of the members of Lok sabha. He also appoints and allocates minister portfolio on the advice of the Prime Minister, and appoint Attorney General, Comptroller, and auditor general, Chairman and members of UPSC, Chief Justice and other judges of the Supreme court and High Court, Governors of states, and Chief commissioners of Union territories, members of Finance Commission languages, election commission, ambassadors or diplomatic agent of India to other countries.

The real power vests with the Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister of India Article 75 provides that the Prime Minister and other ministers shall be appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister. The prime minister selects the council of ministers from other members of parliament. Council of ministers headed by the Prime minister to aid and advise the president in the exercise of his functions. It is the policy-making body of the country and the government in the real sense. It is composed of all the union ministers, Cabinet minis, Ministers of State, and Deputy Ministers.  

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *